The Year of NO!

When I was first diagnosed with BPD, it took me a while to tell people, for a couple of reasons

  1. The stigma
  2. Being treated differently
  3. People just not caring

Well I did tell people and, shit never really changed, and I got frustrated. But instead of telling people my frustrations, I just went along, until it gave me anxiety. This went on until late 2015. I was diagnosed mid 2015, so imagine all this damn anxiety over peoples selfishness.

When 2016 hit I made a vow to myself to tell people “NO!”No is a complete sentence, it doesn’t need an explanation, if I tell you No, dont ask me why, just respect that.

Telling people no will save your sanity. Telling people no is ok to take care of you. Its perfectly fine to be selfish and say “no, I’m not doing this” “no, I’m not going there”

If I tell you no, I’m not doing it to be rude (because people tend to think about everything is about them) I am telling you no, because my mental health is more important than you. You may think thats wrong, and thats why Im saying no, because you cant see why me saying “no” is ok.

Saying “no” to people this year has made some people mad at me, resent me, and thats fine. That lets me know exactly how you feel about me.

I will not say “yes” to you to make YOU happy when in return makes me miserable.

Me being able to function, is more important, You can respect that, or don’t. I just wont be around while you pout.

Published by

Kristen Iness

Mother Wife Living with BPD 'tis all

Leave a Reply

