Seven Years

Today marks seven years since my best friend Shari died. She was in the backseat of her car, asleep and was thrown from the car and died on impact. I’ll never forget where I was when I heard the news. I was at work getting ready to clock out, when I got a phone call. It was an ex friend (friend at the time) telling me that she had died. She said it so nonchalant (thats why she’s an ex friend but this is not what caused that, but anyway) I couldn’t believe it, so i kinda brushed it off like it was nothing. Until I started calling more people, then I got confirmation from her mom, that it was true.

Her death turned my world upside down. I hadn’t seen her that much recently because I had just had my youngest daughter, and she was working a lot. Actually that entire time I was pregnant we kind of drifted apart. Not because of anything any of us did to each other. She was just doing what she always wanted to do, and that was dance. So she danced for the local basketball team here, and did some other stuff she loved. But the distance never made me dislike her. I knew we’d find our way back to each other eventually.

Thats the only thing I regret, is that we didn’t spend more time together, but I can’t dwell on that too much. All I can think about is the great times we had, and how she was like an aunt to my oldest daughter, they loved each other very much. So her death hit all of us pretty hard. I forgot to mention she was also in my wedding, and made sure everyone had a good time that day, she was always nothing but smiles. I miss you, and love you.
11921595_10154133550557662_8251220754842786568_n

Published by

Kristen Iness

Mother Wife Living with BPD 'tis all

Leave a Reply

