I can’t handle my intense emotions

Yesterday was the BPD chat and it was about how we handle intense emotions. Problem is, I don’t, and I can’t.

Heres the chat

Ive never been one to handle my emotions well. I usually yell, scream, breakdown and cry, every. single. time! I can’t figure out what to do to make sure I don’t get to this point. Here are some tips that I’ve gathered from the chat

  • distraction
  • coloring
  • listening to music
  • slow breathing

I’ve tried everything but coloring, that seems like a fun activity lol. But seriously I love coloring so that can be something that actually works. I just want to be able to handle emotions without keeping them bottles up until I explode.

Another huge issue I have is explaining my emotions to other people, because I don’t think they will understand how I feel. Explaining how I feel to a non BPD person is like speaking a foreign language to someone who doesn’t speak it. I don’t want anyone to look at me and think something is seriously wrong with me. When in reality, nothing is wrong, I’m just not good at handling my emotions like most people do. *sigh*

Time to go to the dollar tree and get some crayons and a coloring book.

-Kristen

Published by

Kristen Iness

Mother Wife Living with BPD 'tis all

Leave a Reply

